For those of you who were unable to attend the BTA AGM, the following people have kindly agreed to act for the coming year and hopefully beyond.

Board of Directors with executive position

Sharon Hammond – President

Alec Shepherd – Vice President

Caroline Wright

Martin Bolton

Jon Herring

Steve O’Reilly

Other members of the Executive will be

Charlie Duffy – Treasurer

Tina Rowse –  BSADA and Newsletter

Secretary and BOA/ITU representatives to be determined




Date: Saturday, 22nd February 2020
Location: Fourways Inn
Tickets will be available on Race Day World at

Guest speaker is Kris Gemmell from New Zealand…he is now head of Marketing for ITU and General Manager of the WTS series.

kris gemmell

He is a former elite triathlete with 107 ITU starts..29 podiums and 6 wins. He competed in 2 Olympics and 2 Commonwealth Games for New Zealand and is known for his great sense of humour.


Mike Neil / Jasper Blake Adult Triathlon Camp

blake neiil camp 2018 pics ii c
The 2018 camp with coaches Jasper Blake ( left) and Mike Neill (right) kneeling.

The hugely successful Mike Neill / Jasper Blake Camp has been running for over 10 years now and returns in 2020 to coincide with the Annual Prize Giving Dinner.

The camp is for all abilities and includes swim, bike and run sessions designed to accomodate all abilities including complete beginners who have never participated in a triathlon.Dates: 21st through 29th February, 2020
Locations: Various – NSC Pool, Track, Clearwater, Etc.
These sessions are normally held outside of normal office working hours in the mornings, lunchtimes, evenings and weekend.
For full details and registration, please contact Alec Shepherd at


agmA reminder that the BTA – AGM will take place this Wednesday 29th January 2020 at 6PM on the 2nd floor of the Robin Hood Pub, 25 Richmond Road .

steve petty

With President Steve Petty and Vice President Ian Pilgrim stepping down, this meeting is of special importance as the BTA looks to continue the good work in recent years.

Ian Pilgrim


In a rare move up to longer racing Flora Duffy today competed in the Ironman 70.3 South Africa, her debut Ironman event, and produced a hugely impressive performance to dominate the field, winning by 7 minutes from the talented UK athlete Emma Pallant.

Flora’s overall time  was faster than all but 9 of the professional men and she emerged from the water in 25:43 which matched all but a couple of the top professional men’s times.

What was most impressive however was Flora’s run time showing that the hard work she has put in during the off season on her running is paying dividends. Her time for the run was 1hr 20 min 37 secs within two minutes of the 2nd and 3rd place male professional times and seven minutes better than Emma Palant’s time, who is considered to be one of the top runners over the longer distance.

Flora, after losing most of last season recovering from injury, took on her first career 70.3 with dominating swim and run legs to finish in 4:34:05 with a 2:03 margin of victory over Emma Pallant of Great Britain and 7:12 better than 3rd place finisher Jade Nicole of South Africa.

While Duffy was noted for dominating the bike leg during her 2015 and 2016 World Championship seasons at the Olympic distance, that was not the case in her first try at the 70.3 distance as she surrendered 11:11 to Pallant’s 2:33:01 bike split and a whopping 18:07 to third place finisher and former pro cyclist Jade Nicole of South Africa.

However, Duffy’s women’s-best 25:43 swim was 4:18 better than Pallant and 4:20 better than Nicole, and her 1:20:37 half marathon was 7:01 better than Pallant and 11:04 better than Nicole – more than making up for her off-form cycling leg.



1. Flora Duffy (BER) 4:34:05 S 25:43 T1 2:58 B 2:42:12 T2 2:36 R 1:20:37
2. Emma Pallant (GBR) 4:36:08 S 30:01 T1 2:48 B 2:33:01 T2 2:42 R 1:27:38
3. Jade Nicole (RSA) 4:41:17 S 30:03 T1 3:07 B 2:24:05 T2 2:23 R 1:31:41
4. Natia Van Heerden (RSA) 4:46:26 S 32:19 T1 3:18 B 2:40:29 T2 2:12 R 1:28:09
5. Annah Watkinson (RSA ) 4:48:39 S 30:00 T1 3:08 B 2:42:37 T2 2:20 R 1:30:36
6. Mariella Sawyer (RSA) 5:00:44 S 34:21 T1 2:52 B 2:54:17 T2 2:04 R 1:27:12
7. Kristin Leopold (GER) 5:06:10 S 39:15 T1 4:05 B 2:53:51 T2 4:59 R 1:24:02


1. Matt Trautman (RSA) 4:02:59 S 25:44 T1 2:31 B 2:17:16 T2 1:15:43 R 1:15:43
2. Bradley Weiss (RSA) 4:05:48 S 25:46 T1 2:35 B 2:17:18 T2 1:57 R 1:18:15
3. Henri Schoeman (RSA) 4:07:30 S 23:27 T1 2:35 B 2:19:46 T2 1:49 R 1:19:55
4. Bart Aernouts (BEL) 4:09:10 S 28:48 T1 2:52 B 2:17:29 T2 2:05 R 1:17:58
5. Kyle Buckingham (RSA) 4:10:17 S 25:53 T1 2:40 B 2:17:01 T2 1:57 R 1:22:47
6. Michael Raelert (GER) 4:11:32 S 25:38 T1 2:19 B 2:17:30 T2 1:53 R 1:24:04
7. Cyril Viennot (FRA) 4:15:50 S 25:54 T1 2:41 B 2:23:12 T2 2:08 R 1:21:57